Follow us

Food

Gluten-free diet: here are the foods you should avoid

gluten-free foods

The gluten-free diet is very important both in case of gluten intolerance and in the presence of celiac disease. Here are the foods to avoid.

Gluten-free nutrition is a way to manage both problems related to intolerance and those related to celiac disease, always after asking your doctor for advice. Whether it is intolerance or celiac disease, the diet that you could try to stay calm is in fact about the same and requires gluten-free foods to be consumed.

This is not always easy given that gluten is present in various foods , making it difficult to orientate towards those to be consumed. For this reason there is a distinction between foods that are certainly gluten-free and those that may contain traces of it and therefore can be tolerated in some cases and not in others.

Diet for celiacs: foods to avoid

If you have problems with gluten, some of the foods to avoid are:

gluten-free foods
gluten-free foods

– The wheat
Barley
– Spelled
– Oats (except where expressly indicated that it does not have them)
– The rye
– The Kamut
– Various flours and starches
– First courses based on flour and derivatives
– Bread and derivatives
– Flour-based bakery products

There are also doubts, such as some breakfast cereals, waffles and crackers, mix of cereals, chickpea or dried fruit flours and other foods that, although they do not contain gluten, could have been produced in environments where this is processed and therefore be contaminated.

Generally, to be on the safe side, you can ask your doctor how to manage based on the severity of the problem.

Celiac disease: what to eat

But let’s go to foods for celiac disease or suitable for gluten intolerant. Among those considered safe are:

– Rice in grains
– Amaranth in grains
– Corn in grains
– Buckwheat in grains
– The millet in grains
– Quinoa in grains
– The teff in beans
– All tubers
– Oats only as an ingredient and if certified by the Ministry of Health website

Mix of cereals or various flours, unless it is expressly indicated that they are gluten-free, may contain some. This always happens due to the processing undergone in machinery that previously processed foods containing gluten.

As always, in case of doubts, it is preferable to ask the allergist for an opinion so as not to take risks and to eat in the most suitable way to keep your health at its best.

Advertisement

Read also

Recipes4 hours ago

Vegan sweet potato and beetroot quiche: colorful and delicious!

Sweet potato and beetroot quiche is a delicious vegan quiche, full of flavor and perfect for any occasion. In today’s...

Recipes5 hours ago

Cajettes: the particular Piedmontese potato gnocchi (or bread)

Originating from the Val di Susa, the original recipe for Cajettes involves a dough made with bread, but they are...

Recipes21 hours ago

Time to preserve? The recipe for sliced ‚Äč‚Äčaubergines in oil never disappoints

Aubergines, oil, vinegar and lots of love: these are the basic ingredients of the aubergines fillets in oil … now...

Health21 hours ago

Plaques in the throat: what they are, how to recognize them and how to cure them

Plaques in the throat are a sign of something wrong with the body. Let’s find out what it is and...

Recipes24 hours ago

Savings recipe: Gluten free buckwheat salad

Perfect not only for those who do not tolerate gluten, but also for those who want to try something different:...

Recipes1 day ago

Risotto alla sorrentina: the recipe la forno with tomato and mozzarella

With lots, lots of tomatoes, a cascade of stringy mozzarella and fresh basil: what more can you say about risotto...

Recipes1 day ago

Recipes with raw ham: five easy and delicious dishes

You can use it in the first courses, to flavor the second courses or in delicious single dishes: there are...

Recipes2 days ago

Quick zucchini bombette … one lead to another!

Crunchy on the outside, fluffy on the inside: quick pancakes in batter are the perfect snack to start your meal...

Advertisement
Advertisement