Wellness Trends

Vegan Parmesan cheese is the perfect alternative to the classic product. Find out how to prepare it and how to use it in your recipes!

Even people who can’t or don’t want to eat dairy products can actually season their dishes with Parmesan cheese, thanks to the vegetal alternative to this product.

Vegan Parmesan cheese is perfect for people who do not eat animal origin foods, such as milk, but also for those suffering from lactose intolerance or allergy.

It is very easy to make it, but if you don’t have time or you like having some aside for last-minute recipes, you can buy it. Where? You can find it in organic food shops or online. Let’s find out all the tastier methods to make vegan Parmesan cheese and how to use it our recipes!

Vegan Parmesan cheese ingredients

As mentioned before, there isn’t just one recipe for this product, but there are as many variants as the ingredients you choose to prepare it. The only common features is that you don’t use animal origin foods.

Usually, in order to obtain the typical mealy texture of traditional Parmesan cheese, you can use almonds or cashew nuts, but also walnuts or pine nuts. However, you can add all the seeds you like: sunflower, pumpkin, sesame, chia, flax and more…

Photo source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/cookbookman/5436438721

In order to make vegan Parmesan at home, you just need to choose your base ingredient and finely mince it, so it will look like the original product.

Some recipes also use nutritional yeast, which does not have rising properties, but is a very important supplement, especially for those following a vegan or vegetarian diet. It is rich in B group vitamins, fibers and iron.

In order to customize your vegan Parmesan cheese, you can add some spices you like. Curry, nutmeg, whole salt and other ingredients can give a special touch to this product.

Vegan Parmesan cheese recipes

The most traditional way to use this product is to sprinkle it on your pasta! However, you can use your fantasy and add it to every recipe that needs some flavor more. You can also use it to thicken liquid foods, for your breadings and for your gratin dishes.

Be careful and do not burn it: it contains a lot of oil, so it is ready faster than traditional Parmesan cheese.

Photo source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/cookbookman/5436438721

lactose intolerant oilseeds vegan parmesan cheese veganism

ultimo aggiornamento: 01-03-2019

Goji berries: small fruits with thousands benefits

What is ramen, the typical Japanese soup